The Equal Status Acts (2000-2015) prohibits a landlord from refusing to offer accommodation or from terminating a tenancy on the following ten grounds.

  1. Gender
  2. Marital Status
  3. Family Status
  4. Sexual Orientation
  5. Religious Belief
  6. Age
  7. Disability
  8. Race
  9. Member of the Traveller Community

From 1st January 2016, a landlord cannot discriminate against a person in receipt of rent supplement, housing assistance or any payment under the Social Welfare Acts.

If you feel you have been discriminated against by an accommodation provider and none of the exemptions apply, you should contact the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission for further information.